How to Retrieve an Article
Once you have a citation for an article, there are several ways you may access the full article by using the library databases.
In many instances, you will find that the full text of an article is directly available from the database. When this is the case, you will see a link for HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text. By clicking on the link you will be able to retrieve the article. (Note: you will need to have Adobe Acrobat Reader software on your computer in order to retrieve PDF articles.)
On the Results page there is a link labeled Additional library formats/Interlibrary loan request. This link can be used to check the availability of an article when it is not readily available in full text in the database you are searching. Now you may take the following steps:
-
If the journal article is not available, the screen will show a link to “Resources Located for this Citation.” If the article is available through SWOSU’s journal holdings, the screen will open so that the library catalog can be accessed. This link will take you directly to the page in the catalog that will provide information about the location of the article.
- When you have only a citation, perhaps from a bibliography, you may determine whether the library has access to the journal by using the Periodicals List on the SWOSU Library homepage. By typing the title of the journal in the search box, you will be able to see if we subscribe to any databases that index that journal or if the library owns the journal in paper. If it is available in a database, there will be a link to the database where the article may be found.
