AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is an online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data. Medical news, updates, patient education information, a diagnostic tool, and an integrated drug database with information about dosages, trade names, and pricing are also part of this resource.
CINAHL (FirstSearch)
An index of virtually all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Collection Plus (EbscoHost)
The Cochrane Collection brings together in one place research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It is the gold standard in evidence-based medicine and provides access to the most objective information on the latest in medical treatment.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete provides consumer-oriented health content that's designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It contains the full text of more than 250 health reference books and encyclopedias, as well as thousands of images and videos.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
Health Source: Consumer Edition offers you authoritative information on health-related questions. With this consumer health database, you can find a remedy for sunburn, discover healthy nutritional guidelines, or search for the latest treatments for cancer. The content of Health Source: Consumer Edition is also enhanced with several health books published by the People's Medical Society. With this database you can search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including the British Medical Journal and The Lancet, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 170 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. This resource also includes the text of Stedman's Medical Dictionary, which provides definitions of terms in genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)
IPA provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature. Coverage includes drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice, as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice. IPA indexes approximately 850 journals.
Medline (EbscoHost)
MEDLINE indexes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. It also covers research on the health care system and the preclinical sciences.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, created under the guidance of the US DHHS. NGC offers Syntheses of selected guidelines that cover similar topic areas, and expert commentary on issues of interest and importance to the clinical guideline community.
NLM Gateway
"One-step" searching of many National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, PREMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATOR Plus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, MEDLINE Plus, and DIRLINE.
Natural Standard
This resource aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Information in the Natural Standard is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. Natural Standard's mission is to provide objective, reliable information that aids clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions to make more informed and safer therapeutic decisions.
Nursing Reference Center
NRC is a reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals directly at the point-of-care. This database offers staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nursing faculty the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents. This database provides in-depth information on conditions and diseases, patient education resources, drug information, continuing education, lab and diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.
Stedman's Online Medical Dictionary
Stedman's Online Medical Dictionary is a reliable resource for pharmacy and nursing students, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. Stedman's contains more than 100,000 terms and definitions and approximately 1,500 images and illustrations.
Search and browse the full-text of over 160 peer-reviewed journals in healthcare, including the areas of nursing, pharmacy, and health information management.
UpToDate is a clinical reference tool that provides current answers to patient care, diagnosis and treatment questions at the point of care. Over 200 journals are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews by clinical experts. The content is peer reviewed and fully referenced.
For a complete list of periodicals owned by the library, look at the Periodicals List.
A database is a regularly updated file of digitized information. A library database consists of numerous journals specific to the subject being researched. For example, the Nursing Database CINAHL Complete contains over 1300 nursing journals availble in full-text. It also contains a list of journals that are simply indexed (listed) that are in current and past publication. These articles may be obtained using our Interlibrary Loan service.
