Through the catalog, you have access to a variety of resources that include books located on the shelves, e-books, audio books, videos, and additional materials. This column on the library homepage is your direct link to resources that are available for your use at both the Weatherford and Sayre campuses. You can search for materials in a variety of ways. the tabs at the top of the page provide options for conducting a basic keyword search, a more detailed search, a search by specific subject, or by author. Additionally, a search can be limited by such factors as location or type of resource.
You may also check Reserve books and materials from this link by using the tab titled "Course Reserves." This tab gives you the option of searching by Instructor, Department, and Course Title. Reserve materials are held behind the Circulation Desk. The Guidelines for Reserve Materials is accessible on the library homepage.
The catalog also includes a tab for New Titles. You can use this link to learn what new titles have been added to the library collection during the past four weeks.
Books in our library are cataloged through the use of the Dewey Decimal System.
The Your Account link is intended to aid you by giving you the option of checking your account online. You can check on due dates and even renew your books on line without making a trip to the library. Here is a link to information about Circulation.
Using electronic (e-books) books provide another level of service and materials available to you as a university student. The Oxford English Dictionary defines an e-book as: " A hand-held electronic device on which the text of a book can be read. Also: a book whose text is available in an electronic format for reading on such a device or on a computer screen; (occas.) a book whose text is available only or primarily on the Internet."
This means a greater variety of resources are available for your use without actually moving paper copies from place to place. E-books can be extremely valuable for research projects and various class assignments.
You can find e-books through the catalog link along with other books and materials, or you can go directly to the E-Book link. Here you will find direct access to the following resources: Ebook Central (ebrary), Greenwood Ebooks, and Oxford Reference. The e-book collection gives you access to over 80,000 titles.
Ebook Central (ebrary) ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) provides thousands of ebooks in a broad range of subject areas, including business, technology, health and medicine, literature and the humanities, physical sciences, social sciences, and interdisciplinary studies. Many Ebook Central titles can be downloaded and read off-line using Adobe Digital Editions.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) Search, browse, and read the complete text of thousands of ebooks. EBSCO's eBook Collection has titles from major scholarly, academic, and technical publishers such as Cambridge University Press, the University of Oklahoma Press, Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, O'Reilly, and many more. Books can be downloaded for off-line reading on Windows and Macs using Adobe Digital Editions.
Greenwood Ebooks provides excellent subject information through a series of more than 30 online books and encyclopedias. These resources are meant to be helpful for you as you are finding resources for an argumentative research paper. Take a look at the Battleground books. They discuss issues related to sports, the media, criminal justice, business, religion, and science and technology; as a result, differing viewpoints are presented. There is also a bookshelf option for saving books and making notes.
Oxford Reference contains a variety of subject dictionaries, English and bilingual dictionaries, extensive quotations, timelines for 20th century history, many visual images, and a substantial number of maps.
The Al Harris Library provides links to online audio books that can be downloaded to your MP3 player or streamed to your computer.
Additionally, the library has a large collection of audio books on CD. These resources can be located by searching the library catalog and limiting the search to audio books. The CD collection is located in the southeast corner of the first floor.
In addition to online audio, the Al Harris Library offers online streaming videos for you to view and use. These videos come from a variety of sources. They offer a wide range of topics and subject areas. Take a look here at the databases that are available. The video below is found in the American History in Video database. It's just one of many titles that is available for you to stream and enjoy.
