The Fenway Institute Center for Population Research in LGBT Health
Promotes research to fill critical knowledge gaps related to the health of sexual and gender minorities
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys
Data on mental disorders among the general population with a special emphasis on minority groups. Joins together three national surveys: the National Comorbidity Survey Replication (NCS-R), the National Survey of American Life (NSAL), and the National Latino and Asian American Study (NLAAS). CPES permits the investigation of cultural and ethnic influences on mental health.
Health and Medical Care Archive
“HMCA is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest health care philanthropy organization in the United States. HMCA is the official data archive of the Foundation, and is devoted to preserving and making available research data that have significant secondary-analytic value for expanding knowledge on, and ultimately contributing to, improvement of the health of people in the United States.”
Integrated Fertility Survey Series
“The goal of IFSS is to provide researchers, educators, students, policy makers, and others with a data resource to examine issues related to families and fertility in the United States spanning five decades. IFSS provides access to ten individual national studies of fertility encompassing the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG) as well as a single dataset composed of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. Analytic tools make it possible to quickly and easily explore the data and obtain information about changes in behaviors and attitudes across time.”
Minority Data Research Center
“MDRC is a membership-funded archive whose purpose is to provide data resources for the comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. We offer streamlined access to existing ICPSR data and to newly acquired studies that are relevant to the study of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race in the United States.”
In many cases access to microdata files will be readily available on the individual survey websites. Visit the Data Access pages from NCHS for direct links to public-use data files and documentation.
The Integrated Health Interview Series from the Minnesota Population Center which provides access to microdata from the National Health Interview Survey.
Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources
An excellent source for locating all data collection and analysis programs for each sub-agency of the department. It lists every survey, study and data collection initiative of the DHHS.
The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is a cabinet-level executive agency of the United States Government. It is tasked to protect health and provide human services for all Americans. This is the federal organization under which almost all health-related data and statistics are produced.
Eleven agencies fall under the DHHS, and each may be responsible for collecting data in areas relevant to their mission:
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is an agency of the CDC. NCHS is the U.S. government’s principal vital and health statistics agency. Major NCHS data systems and surveys include:
