Due to access with electronic resources, select print periodical titles were deselected from the library's holdings and the paper was recycled. View of stacked periodicals along the back west wall, first floor.
VIew of stacked periodicals to be recycled along the back staircase, first floor.
View of stacked periodicals to be recycled in the Public Services Office, first floor.
Juvenile Collection moved from second floor to the first floor, preceding the periodicals collection.
Removed chairs and tables.
Removed chairs and tables.
Removed chairs and one table.
Removed study carrels, tables and chairs.
Removed study carrels, tables, chairs and dry erase boards.
Removed study carrels, tables, chairs and dry erase boards.
Removed study carrels, tables, chairs, dry erase boards, and atlas cases.
Process of removing collections and other materials from the Southwestern Room.
Removed all collections, archival cabinets, and chairs.
The complete relocation of the Juvenile and Curriculum collections to the first floor.
All deselected periodicals have been collected and removed. Seating areas restored to their prior condition.
Removed computer equipment, chairs, instructor podium, and printer. Remaining furniture was moved to north side of the room.
Shelving aisle end caps placed in south side of the Instruction Room.
Looking along the study carrel rooms, this vantage point from the southwest corner shows over half the books and shelving aisles removed.
Looking diagonally across the floor from the southwest corner, shows the emptied second floor from east to west.
Process of removing the book collection and dismantling the shelving.
Full book trucks awaiting to be transported offsite.
Loading transport trailer with book trucks.
Unloading transport trailer at offsite storage facility.
Library's book collection placement at offsite storage facility.
Library's second floor shelving being reassembled at offsite storage facility.
Moved display cabinets and wood shelves from Southwestern Room into the Instruction Room.
Removed all remaining furniture from room.
Dismantling all excess shelving.
Placement of excess shelving and furniture from second floor.
Placement of excess shelving (unused shelving at offsite storage facility)
Back stairwell sealed off during the abatement process on the second floor.
All stairwells blocked off to the public.
Concrete floor after abatement of second floor completed
Concrete floor after abatement of second floor completed. Dark area is where the floor was patched at the cold joint.
Concrete floor after abatement of second floor completed.
Concrete floor after abatement of second floor completed.
Concrete floor after abatement of the second floor completed. Dark area is where the floor was patched at the cold joint.
Concrete floor after abatement of the second floor completed. Dark area is where the floor was patched at the cold joint.
Concrete floor after abatement of the second floor completed. Dark area is where the floor was patched at the cold joint.
Concrete floor after abatement of the second floor completed.
Concrete floor after abatement of the second floor completed.
Demolition of the exterior walls of the study carrels.
Demolition of the exterior walls of the study carrels.
Demolition of the exterior walls of the study carrels.
View of the west wall after the completed removal of all study carrel rooms.
Wood paneling removed from north walls.
Wood paneling removed from north walls.
Wood paneling removed from north walls.
Wood paneling removed from north walls.
Demolition of Group Study Room #3, view of the back wall.
Demolition of Group Study Room #3, view of the side wall.
Demolition of Group Study Room #3, view from door/hallway.
Concrete steps after abatement of the stairwell (completed after the floor).
Concrete steps after abatement of the stairwell (completed after the floor).
Demolition of the Southwestern Room, view of the back wall.
Demolition of the Southwestern Room and Group Study Room #3.
Installation of the wire rack for the Ethernet upgrades for the entire building.
Removal of ceiling tiles, moving from west to east.
Removed ceiling tiles are stacked along the wall in the southeast corner of the second floor.
Removed ceiling tiles are stacked along the wall in the southeast corner of the second floor.
Removed ceiling tiles are stacked along the walls in the southeast corner of the second floor.
Installation of new Ethernet wiring for the building.
Removal of ceiling grid in the southwest corner.
Removal of ceiling grid in the southwest corner.
Removal of ceiling grid in the northwest corner.
Removal of ceiling grid in the northwest corner.
Removal of ceiling grid in the northwest corner and outside of the Instruction Room.
Removal of ceiling grid in the middle of the second floor.
Removal of the majority of light fixtures from the north side of the second floor.
Removal of the older ventilation ducts from the north side of the second floor.
Removal of majority of older ceiling components completed.
Removal of majority of older ceiling components completed. With most light fixtures removed, sections of the second floor are quite dark.
Removal of majority of older ceiling components completed. With most light fixtures removed, sections of the second floor are quite dark.
Removal of majority of older ceiling components completed.
Removal of stacked ceiling tiles.
Removal of second floor ceiling tiles.
Flatbed truck used to dispose of ceiling tiles and other pieces of debris.
Back stairwell was closed to allow for a large flat surface to read the architectural drawings during construction.
Removal of the wood paneling on the walls adjacent to the Instruction Room.
View of the northwest corner, placement of new wall frames for the exterior wall of the new archive's storage vault.
Placement of the new ceiling frames for drop ceiling accents along the north side and in front of the new archive.
View of northwest corner from south side, placement of new wall and ceiling framework.
View of the new ductwork placed throughout the second floor ceiling. Additionally, you can see the different stages of completion on the framing of the drop ceiling accent pieces.
View of the square ceiling framework for the new LED lightboxes.
Placement of new wall frames for the new study spaces in the southwest corner.
View of the wall frame enclosure for the custodial room extension.
With the upstairs custodial closet cleared out for renovation, it allows for the opportunity to take a photo of the ladder access to the roof of the library. One of those hidden gems of the building's structure.
View of new ductwork and other supplies for installation in the southwest corner.
Placement of drywall to fit drop ceiling accents.
Placement of drywall to fit drop ceiling accents on south side of the floor.
At the height of construction, the loading dock area was congested with pieces of ductwork, supplies, furniture, and tools allowing a narrow walking path to the elevator, auditorium and Writing Center.
Removal of old ductwork from second floor
With the drop ceiling removed, it allows for the opportunity to take a photo of an expansion ceiling cover verifying the rumor that this building was constructed to accommodate a third floor. This sheet metal expansion covers a natural void to allow for the construction of a new stairwell extension to a potential third floor.
Removal of vertical wood slats along the walls adjacent to the elevator and south side restrooms.
As part of the construction, the electrical wiring needed to be brought up to current building code. This shows the breaker box housing removed and the work in progress.
View of new ductwork in the southwest corner.
View of new ductwork along the south wall.
View of new ductwork supplies stacked along the west wall and behind the back stairwell.
View of new ductwork components to split the airflow across the area.
Close-up view of new ductwork components to split the airflow across the area.
Close-up view of the electrical box attached to the new ductwork.
Removal of drop ceiling tiles and grid in the north hallway.
View of drywall installation along the walls adjacent to the Instruction Room.
View of the drywall installation of the drop ceiling accents in front of the restrooms on the north side of the floor.
View of the drywall installation of the drop ceiling accents outside of the Instruction Room.
Close-up view of the drywall installation atop of the columns.
View of the drywall installation of the drop ceiling accents at mid-floor.
View of the drywall installation of the drop ceiling accents in front of the restrooms on the south side of the floor.
View of the drywall installation on the exterior wall of the archive storage vault.
Close-up view of the framing of the signage cutout to eventually house pictures and biographical information of Tom Stafford.
Interior view of the exterior wall of the storage vault. Drywall installation applied to the exterior while the interior view shows the wall frame.
View of the drywall installation of the drop ceiling accents outside the south exterior wall of the storage vault.
View of the drywall installation in progress on the south exterior wall of the storage vault.
View of the wall frame for the remaining south exterior wall of the storage vault and the wall for the new utility room.
View of the wall frame for the new office space and utility room next to the storage vault.
View of the wall frame and doorways. Left side is the new sorting room (staff area) and the doorway on the right, leads to the new reading room (visitor area) for the archive.
VIew of the wall frame for the new sorting room (staff area) including a reverse view of the framed area of the storage vault.
Close-up view of wall frame for the sorting room's half wall.
View of the ceiling frames for the drop ceiling accents and lighting in the new reading room (visitor area).
View of the ceiling frames for the various drop ceiling accents throughout the center area of the second floor.
View of the wall frame for the custodial closet extension and the corner utility closet.
View of the wall frames dividing the study spaces with the inclusion of electrical boxes and conduits. New ductwork elements placed within each space for placement.
View of drywall supplies placed for installation in the southwest corner.
Broad view looking north of the whole renovation process.
Broad view of drywall installation for the southwest corner.
View of drywall installation in progress on custodial closet extension and utility room.
View of drywall installation in progress on study spaces along south wall.
View of drywall installation in progress on study spaces in southwest corner and along west wall.
Broad view looking north of the whole renovation process along the west wall.
View of drywall installation and framing of drop ceiling along the west wall.
Broad view looking northwest of the whole renovation process.
Placement of wall insulation supplies to complete wall construction in the archive area.
Broad view looking northeast of the whole renovation process along the east wall.
Placement of new ductwork and ductwork components in the southeast corner.
View of construction supplies placed in the southeast corner.
Removal of all water fountains from the second floor.
Placement of new ductwork in the storage vault area. The ductwork in this area will operate independently from the rest of the second floor to maintain a climate-controlled environment.
Placement of drywall over insulation along the west wall of the Sorting Room.
Placement of insulation along the north wall of the Sorting Room and Reading Room.
Broad view looking northwest of the renovation work in the new archive.
Placement of drywall over insulation along the south wall of the storage vault.
Placement of drywall over insulation along the north and south walls of the new office space.
View of the drywall being primed for painting.
View of the drywall being primed for painting in the southeast corner.
Removal of ceiling tiles to place new ductwork components in the Huddle Room and the adjacent Group Study Room #1.
The process of removing any particles of mastic by sanding the floor and bagging the particles. By smoothing the floor's surface, it prepares the floor surface for a polished finish.
View of the north stairwell looking down from second floor landing. Removal of any remaining particles of mastic by sanding the floor by hand.
View of the south stairwell looking down from the second floor landing. Removal of any remaining particles of mastic by sanding the floor by hand.
View of the shop-vac used to collect the dust and sanded particles from the stairwell landings.
View of second floor landing in the south stairwell after cleaning the floor from the sanding process.
Broad view of the construction process in the southeast corner.
Broad view of the construction process in the southeast corner looking northeast.
Process of cleaning the concrete floor to remove dirt and dust before polishing the concrete.
View of the south side concrete floor where it had been cleaned.
View of the southeast corner where the concrete floor had been cleaned up to the study spaces. The process of installing new ductwork components and the priming of the drywall of this area prevented further floor cleaning into this corner.
Broad view of the construction process around the custodial closet extension.
Broad view of the construction process of the new study spaces. All drywall is primed and new ductwork placed. New support racks and conduits running across the ceiling for the new Ethernet upgrades.
View of the construction process around the restrooms on the south side of the floor.
Placement of new ductwork continues in the southeast corner.
View of the drywall of the drop ceiling accents being primed for painting.
Broad view of the construction process on the south side looking northwest.
Broad view of the construction process along the exterior walls of the storage vault and office space.
Broad view of the construction process outside the archive.
Placement of drywall in the Reading Room (and the archive as a whole) almost completed.
Masonry repairs conducted on the exterior wall of the Sorting Room. The repair work was to replace broken or missing masonry bricks along the top of the wall. To accomplish these repairs, the drywall was removed and the insulation was pulled away from the masonry wall.
Masonry repairs conducted on the exterior wall of the Storage Vault. The repair work was to replace broken or missing masonry bricks along the top of the wall. To accomplish these repairs, the drywall was removed and the insulation was pulled away from the masonry wall.
Removal of the entire drop ceiling from the north hallway.
Drop ceiling accents throughout the central part of the floor are being painted.
Facing northwest, another vantage point of the drop ceiling accents being painted.
Drop ceiling accents along the west wall being painted.
Drop ceiling accents in front of the new office space being painted.
The walls of the new study spaces being painted.
The walls along the custodial closet being painted.
Placement of the new support wires for the new drop down ceiling frame. Support wires are bolted into the concrete and spaced in a pattern to support the anticipated weight of the drop ceiling frame and tiles.
Placement of pipes for the new sprinkler system installation on the first floor.
Placement of pipes for the new sprinkler system installation on the first floor.
Placement of pipes for the new sprinkler system installation on the first floor.
Placement of parts and supplies for the new sprinkler system installation on the first floor. Due to the pandemic shutdown and closure of the library, this process was able to move forward more smoothly without placing restrictions on the construction workers.
Holes were drilled through the concrete floor so pipes could be placed connecting the basement up to the second floor. The larger hole will serve as the primary conduit of water throughout the system for each floor.
Removal of ceiling tiles for the placement of pipes throughout the floor.
View of the sprinkler system pipes with conduit tubing to be connected to sprinkler heads.
View of the supports for the new electrical conduits.
Drop ceiling accents being painted with second color.
The divider wall framing the back stairwell being painted (the entire length of the stairwell).
Drop ceiling accents in the Archive's Reading Room being painted with second color.
View of the vault ductwork being painted.
Removal of the ceiling tiles and old lighting in the Huddle Room.
With the old ceiling removed, new support wires for the new drop down ceiling placed.
With the old ceiling removed, new support wires for the new drop down ceiling placed.
Placement of parts and supplies for the new sprinkler system installation on the first floor.
View of pipe fittings and other equipment for the sprinkler system installation project.
Placement of new pipes along the south wall and a support structure running vertically for the pipes connecting all the floors.
Box of conduit tubing for connecting the pipes to sprinkler heads.
Placement of new pipes above the Reference Collection extending to the emergency exit and the restrooms on the north side of the first floor.
Placement of new pipes in front of the restrooms on the north side.
Placement of new pipes outside the office of the library director.
Placement of new pipes along the west wall of the Instruction Room.
As a part of the new sprinkler system, a system panel and a pull alarm panel was placed near the front entrance.
Throughout the building, new fire alarm strobe lights with audio alerts placed on the ceiling.
Placement of the new drop ceiling grid.
Placement of the new drop ceiling grid.
Placement of the new drop ceiling grid.
Placement of new LED lighting in the drop ceiling grid and recessed lighting fixtures on the ceiling accents.
Placement of new drop ceiling grid with new LED lighting.
Placement of new drop ceiling grid with new LED lighting.
Placement of new drop ceiling grid with new LED lighting.
Placement of new drop ceiling grid with new LED lighting.
Placement of new drop ceiling grid with new LED lighting.
Placement of new drop ceiling grid with new LED lighting.
Placement of two large LED light boxes. This design element was replicating the atrium element of the original library (now the Art Building).
The existing columns were updated with design accents and wood trim. Pictured here is the top of the column. Each column was framed with a ceiling accent and a dark, wood trim was added to the top creating an ornamental aesthetic that was missing from this architectural elements.
Work on the new sprinkler system continues from outside the Director's Office to the News Room.
Work on the new sprinkler system continues from outside the Director's Office to throughout the Periodical Collection area.
Before repainting the north and south stairwells, old, flaky paint was scrapped off the walls, ceiling and guardrails.
Placing paper guards to minimize paint spills on stair steps. View of second floor doorway from stairwell landing.
Placing paper guards to minimize paint spills on stair steps. View of first floor doorway from stairwell landing.
Finished placing and painting the new ductwork. New LED lighting installed.
New LED lighting installed. New ceiling tiles are being placed. Metal tracks being placed for the glass wall installation.
Placement of new wood cabinets with adjustable shelves.
Metal tracks being placed along the floor for the glass wall.
New drop ceiling grid and LED lights installed. Placing new ceiling tiles.
New drop ceiling grid and LED lights installed. Placing new ceiling tiles.
Looking north, new drop ceiling grid and LED lights installed. Placing new ceiling tiles.
New LED light box installed. Placing new ceiling tiles around the edge of the light box.
View of both finished light boxes. Placement of new ceiling tiles throughout the south side of the floor.
View of finished light boxes and placement of new ceiling tiles at mid-floor.
Looking southwest, placement of new tiles next to ceiling accents.
A wide-view of the construction process.
Placement of wood trim panels on columns.
Placement of wood trim panels on columns.
Metal tracks being placed along the floor for the glass wall.
Metal tracks being placed for the glass walls of the new study rooms. Some glass walls being put into position.
Placement of new pipes along the south wall and across the seating area of the auditorium.
Placement of new sprinkler pipes in the Systems Office.
Placement of new pipes along the south side of the hallway.
View of new sprinkler pipes and new wiring outside the Writing Center door.
View of new sprinkler pipes and new wiring along south side of the hallway.
Placement of new sprinkler pipes in the Media Studio.
View of new sprinkler pipes being routed through the wall of the Boiler Room.
With the installation, a new master sprinkler system panel was placed on the wall.
As part of the installation process, stored furniture and shelving had to be re-positioned to allow for placement of pipes and electrical conduit along the exterior wall. The stored furniture in this picture was removed from the second floor.
Among tools and stored furniture, equipment in the loading dock area continued to be utilized for the construction process.
With the removal of the plyboard cover and tools, the back stairwell was reopened for use.
Placement of the glass walls for the new study spaces in the southwest corner.
Placement of the glass walls for the new conference room.
View of the construction process: cleaning the floors, finishing wood trim placement on the columns with new electrical outlets at their base, and placement of the majority of ceiling tiles.
Placement of glass wall for the new office space.
Placement of the glass walls for the new reading room of the archive.
View of the entrance to the new archive, the reading room and the sorting room.
Placement of the glass (half) wall and the glass door to the sorting room.
View from the opposite side, the glass (half) wall looking into the reading room area.
Placement of large storage cabinets along the north wall and regular cabinets along the west wall of the sorting room.
View of the finished add-on to the custodial closet to house their large equipment.
View of the new electrical box and conduits for the second floor renovation.
View of the new utility closet housing the new Ethernet rack and main water pipe with gauge value for the second floor sprinkler system.
Finished placement of the new ceiling in Group Study Room #1.
Finished placement of the new ceiling in the Huddle Room.
Finished placement of the new ceiling and glass walls of the new study spaces (southwest corner of the second floor).
Finished placement of the new ceiling in the southwest corner of the second floor.
Finished placement of the new ceiling and wood trim on columns in the southeast corner of the second floor.
Finished placement of the new ceiling and wood trim on the columns on the east side of the second floor.
Finished placement of the new ceiling and wood trim on the columns around the back stairwell.
Finished placement of the new ceiling and wood trim on the north side of the second floor.
Finished placement of the new ceiling and wood trim next to the new office and exterior of the archive.
Placement of wood frame in wall cutout for archive signage. Taped on the wall are design layout for this signage.
Completed the glass wall installation for the exterior of the Reading Room.
Finished placement of the new ceiling for the Reading Room.
Construction of wood cabinets and work counter along the half-wall.
Construction wood cabinet and counter island in the center of the Sorting Room.
The existing wood door and threshold were re-stained a darker color to match the new wood trim elements installed on the columns and in the archive.
The existing wood walls of the front atrium were re-stained to match the new wood trim elements installed on the columns.
View of the main water pipe with gauge value for the first floor sprinkler system.
View from the Library's loading dock ramp looking southwest. Construction to place new water pipe underground (behind the Burton House) from the city's water line along College Avenue to the Library (southwest corner of the building).
Using heavy equipment, the sidewalk along the loading dock ramp was demolished in order to run new water pipes to the Library's new sprinkler system.
View of the entire length of sidewalk removed on the southwest corner of the building.
Heavy equipment digs a trench across the back parking lot area to connect a new water line up to the library.
View of the debris pile as asphalt and dirt are removed to create a trench across the parking lot for laying new pipes up to the library.
After completing the trench, more dirt was removed from the sidewalk area allowing the new water line to be placed next to the building.
With most of the renovation work complete and the floor being clean, the concrete surface was polished.
With most of the renovation work complete, the glass walls of the new study spaces were professionally cleaned.
With most of the renovation work complete, metal trim edges were placed on the columns.
With most of the renovation work complete, the glass wall of the new office space was professionally cleaned.
View of the storage room next to the new office.
Placement of vertical wood elements next to the front entrance and the blue accent trim. These elements will help frame entrance signage to be placed on this wall.
A view of the renovation from the vantage point of the Archive's Reading Room.
Placement of glass doors on the wood cabinets.
Placement of glass doors on the wood storage lockers.
Placement of new tile back splash for the water fountain next to elevator.
Placement of new tile back splash for the water fountain in the north hallway.
After removing additional dirt from the sidewalk area, the new water pipes are put into their final position.
New water lines placed up to the building and buried under dirt.
Placement of new main pipe connecting outside water lines buried under dirt (sidewalk) to the library's sprinkler system.
Placement of new main pipe connecting outside water lines to the library's sprinkler system.
Placement of new pipes connecting the main water pipes on the first and second floor and the sprinkler system throughout the basement floor.
Placement of tile on the elevated floor surface around a series of floor ventilation ducts along the east wall.
A new water fountain was installed near the elevator to address wheelchair accessibility.
New white counter tops placed on top of the waist-high wood cabinets. Installation of the glass cabinet doors completed.
New white counter top placed for the staff workspace.
New white counter tops placed on the cabinet island and waist-high cabinets along the west wall. Installation of the glass cabinet doors completed.
Shelf ends and metal pieces delivered for the new high density shelving.
Shelf wheels delivered for the new high density shelves.
Shelf wheels and shelves delivered for the new high density shelving.
Placement of the gliding tracks for the shelf wheels. View of the new tile floor for the storage vault room.
Shelves and vertical support pieces delivered for the new high density shelves.
Completion of the pipe installation for the library's sprinkler system.
Completion of the water line installation project. A pipe seal added and a new fire hydrant placed nearby.
In the north hallway, the water fountain was restored back into its previous location.
Installation of the new tile along the east wall completed.
A closer view of the new tile installed along the east wall.
Installation of a power bar along the outer wall of the new large group study space.
Installation of a power bar along the outer wall of the new conference room space.
Installation of a power bar along the outer wall of one of the small study spaces.
Installation of new door to the custodial closet.
Installation of new doors to the storage vault.
Installation of new control panel for the new HVAC system for the vault. For clarification, the climate controls for this room operate independently from the rest of the library building.
Installation of the high density shelving completed. These shelves will house the archival collections donated by General Tom Stafford.
View of the central aisle of the high density shelving. This shelving is unique because it only has one usable aisle between shelves to access the materials.
View of the length of the room through the shelves.
View of the entrance to the storage vault. The wheel cranks allow the shelves to be moved across the room with ease to gain access to the collection at any position of this room. These cranks include a locking mechanism to keep the shelves from moving while trying to pull materials from the shelf.
Installation of new carpet for the seating area outside the archive into the archive's reading room. Also, the wall cutout is painted in preparation for the archive signage.
While waiting for the state Fire Marshall inspection, the library movers return to assemble shelving for the eventual return of the library's book collection.
View of how the library movers measured and staged the book shelf arrangement.
Installation of new carpet for the northeast seating area (facing the clock tower).
Installation of new carpet outlining a new seating area aligned with the back stairwell for an easy exit from the second floor.
Installation of new carpet for the southeast seating area (facing the clock tower).
Installation of new carpet for the new seating area in the southeast corner.
Installation of new doors for the second floor restrooms.
Installation of new carpet for the new study spaces and the seating area adjacent to these rooms.
Installation of new carpet for the new office space.
Application of metallic trim to the vertical wood accents at the entrance of the archive.
Installation of new carpet for this study room.
Installation of new carpet for this study room.
New concrete poured to restore the sidewalk along the loading dock ramp.
Library movers begin moving books back into the library.
Library movers arrange their carts in progression of the Dewey Decimal System before placing them on the shelf.
First library books to be shelved back on the second floor.
A privacy filter applied to all the study room glass walls.
Library movers off loading more books at the loading dock and bringing them up the elevator.
At this stage of returning books to the second floor, more shelving is erected to allow the moving process to proceed smoothly without delays.
Installation of artwork on the wall next to the archive's entrance. A photograph of General Stafford with metal letters mounted to the wall.
Installation of artwork on the exterior wall of the archive. A photograph of the Earth from the Moon with black, glossy letters mounted to the wall. The letters emphasize a quote attributed to General Stafford.
Placing library tables into new study space rooms and adjacent seating area.
Saved from the Southwestern Room, this wood table was added to the new conference room.
New restroom signs mounted to the wall. The computer standing desk returns to its original position outside the Instruction Room. This desk holds three computers for quick searching of the library's holdings.
Placement of a room number sign for the archive's Reading Room.
Delivery of the archive's front doors after being stained off-site.
Installation of LED lighting to each cabinet compartment which is tied to the overhead lighting for the room.
Placement of a room number sign for the archive's Sorting Room.
Placement of a room number sign for the archive's Storage Vault.
Removal of wall artwork and mounted letters due to faulty installation.
Removal of wall artwork and mounted letters due to faulty installation. LED lighting added to the wall cutout creating a dramatic effect for the signage to be placed in this location.
Placing library chairs into new study space rooms and adjacent seating area.
Retained from the Southwestern Room, these task chairs were added around the wood conference table.
View of the west wall with the entire book collection returned to the second floor.
Behind the back stairwell, a secluded seating area was created.
