Facing northwest, a view of the carpeted seating area near the archive entrance. Visible are the front doors to the archive, wall artwork of General Thomas P. Stafford, his biography and a quote attributed to Stafford.
Turning slightly west, the new library office can be viewed on the far left, around the corner from the seating area. This seating area was originally dedicated to a handful of shelving ranges of the library's book collection.
Facing west, a new angle of the seating area with a clear view of the exterior glass wall of the archive.
Facing north and within the carpeted area, this view shows the visibility of the archive interior from outside.
The initial proposal was to replace the existing study carrels with new study spaces along the same wall with glass walls and sliding doors. These rooms would stretch from the new library office to the southwest corner behind the back stairwell.
With a close-up view of these study rooms, it offers a clearer perspective on the sliding doors and the aisle space between these rooms and the book shelves.
The final proposal placed the new study rooms in a J-shaped configuration. Most rooms are of equal size except a large group study room in the far southwest corner and a conference room at the end. All rooms have glass walls and a sliding door. Inside will be assorted furniture arrangements with dry-erase boards and flat screens. Outside the study rooms, an open furniture arrangement for individuals or groups to study. This whole corner area will be carpeted.
Facing northwest, this view of the archive's Reading Room shows the interior area just past the front doors. In the center of the Reading Room, work space for researchers and casual seating areas for guests. Along the north wall, are cabinets (full and half size) designed to hold print materials and space to display archival materials. Past the work tables is the Sorting Room designed to evaluate, process and digitize archival material. This area will serve as part office and work space for library staff.
Facing southeast, this is a flipped view of the Reading Room showing the east wall, front doors, public seating area outside, and the library's book shelves beyond this area. This reading room was originally open study space, a large study room and the Southwestern Room. The Southwestern Room was designed to hold materials and artifacts documenting the university's history. Now, those materials will be housed in this new archive.
Facing west, this center aisle has been redesigned to accommodate new seating areas among the book collection. This aisle will be carpeted from the back stairwell to the main traffic aisle (going from north-south). Furniture will be added to this carpeted area and new LED square lights will be placed above to assist with sufficient reading light. This lighting design is a callback to the originally library (today's Art Building) that had atrium lighting.
A picture of the new floor plan with the final placement of the archive, office and study rooms.
With this floor plan, it shows the placement of different types of flooring, proposed furniture placement and the final arrangement of the book shelves.
